MCGS Home  About MCGS  Join Us!  Resources
Events  Projects

Email MCGS
Postal Mail:
P.O. Box 488
Normal, IL 61761


About MCGS

     ▪Library Hours
Board of Directors







G E T  T O  K N O W  U S!

McLean County Museum of History


The MCGS Library, Archives, and office are located on the second floor of the McLean County Museum of History on the Courthouse Square in downtown Bloomington, IL.  We share the Stevenson-Ives Library and Archives space with the Museum of History and the Leticia Green Stevenson Chapter DAR.  The Square is bounded by Center, Washington, Main, and Jefferson streets. 

The main entrance to the Museum is through the south door on Washington Street which is wheelchair/handicapped accessible. 

For specific information on the Stevenson-Ives Library, including hours of operation click here.

Street address:  200 Main Street, Bloomington, IL

Museum phone:  309-827-0428

Mailing address:  P.O. Box 488, Normal, IL 61761

General Inquiry Email:

Board Email Addresses:                                 

Back to Top

Board of Directors

2021 Officers

President Pat Perkins
Past President Ardys Serpette
Vice President Vacant
Recording Secretary Carol Jones
Corresponding Secretary Cheryl Budde
Treasurer Rand Veerman

2021 Directors

Acquisitions Nola Marquardt
Cemetery Cheryl Budde
Computer Mike Limer
Distribution Ruth Wilkerson
Finance Robert Cullen
Journal Carol Genung
Library Robin Siebert
MCMH Representative Vacant
Membership Pam Veerman
Newsletter Editor William P. LaBounty
Program Vacant
Program Assistant Vacant
Publications Pam Veerman
Publicity Vacant
Website Carol Genung

Our History

The McLean County Genealogical Society
Established January 17, 1966 in Bloomington, Illinois.

History of the McLean County Genealogical Society

Edited from Gleanings, Vol. 26, No. 1, Spring 1992, pages 3 & 4

Forty years ago a genealogical organization was established for an area in Illinois centered by the cities of Bloomington and Normal. It was organized for men and women expressing a vital interest in doing research on their family histories. Originally, in 1966, the name was proclaimed as the BLOOMINGTON-NORMAL GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY. In April of 1988 the entitlement became THE MCLEAN COUNTY GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY when plans to merge with the McLean County Historical Society and a move into the old McLean County Courthouse matured.

At the very beginning, back in 1965, Rachel Lundeen had created a real interest in genealogy by teaching the subject in Adult Education classes. Her comprehensive course was entitled "Your Family Tree." An interest in genealogy derived from this course prompted a clamor for a genealogy club of sorts. Finally, the YWCA agreed to call for a club organizational meeting on the 7th of November 1965. Plans were firmly made at this session to create the Bloomington´┐ŻNormal Genealogical Society. Organizers agreed to meet every third Monday at the Withers Public Library at Washington and East Streets near the city center of Bloomington. Two shelves at Withers holding the genealogy books owned by the individual organizers formed a start of the Society's library.

The newly formed society of genealogical interest completed its "legal" organization in January of 1966 with the adoption of a set of by-laws and election of its first set of officers:  Elinor Wetter, President; Lula Paul, Vice-president; Doris Hilton, Secretary; Betty Hering, Treasurer; Betty Lovekamp, Corresponding Secretary; and Rachel Lundeen, Advisor.

Charter Members

Twenty four Charter Members were pronounced and accepted as follows:

Ruth Carpenter
Bernadine Chariton
Iris Deems
Lucille Flanagan
Margaret Goeway
Helen Harris
Betty Hering
Doris Hilton
Muriel Hoffman
Betsy Light
Louise Love
Betty Lovekamp

Rachel Lundeen
Josephine Munro
William Munro
Louise Muxfeld
Myrna Park
Lula Paul
Anna Pisell
Leroy Shutes
Donna Smith
Alice Steinberg
Elinor Wetter
Vivian Zook


Society Presidents

1966          Elinor Wetter
1967          Myrna Park
1968          Myrna Park
1969          Barbara Wright
1970          Barbara Wright
1971          Marian Spratt
1972          Beatrice Armstrong
1973          Beatrice Armstrong
1974          Doris Hilton
1975          Elizabeth Masters
1976          Ruth Cope
1977          Ruth Cope
1978          Esther Hannon
1979          Esther Hannon
1980          Joy Craig
1981          Joy Craig
1982          Joy Craig
1983          Peggy Fuller
1984          Peggy Fuller
1985          Sarah E. "Betty" Waugh
1986          Sarah E. "Betty" Waugh
1987          George F. Perkins
1988          George F. Perkins
1989          Dorotha Russell
1990          Paul K. Benjamin, Jr.
1991          Paul K. Benjamin, Jr.
1992          Donna M. Jenkins


1993     Donna M. Jenkins
1994     Mary E. "Liz" Veselack
1995     Mary E. "Liz" Veselack
1996     Reva S. Merrick
1997     Reva S. Merrick
1998     Charles M. Lamlein
1999     Charles M. Lamlein
2000     Candace Leatherman
2001     Candace Leatherman
2002     George F. Perkins
2003     Carol Harrington
2004     Carol Harrington
2005     Mary E. Scott
2006     Mary E. Scott
2007     Neil Sallee
2008     Neil Sallee
2009     Sara Cushing
2010     Sara Cushing
2011     Judith Myers
2012     Judith Myers
2013     Ardys Serpette
2014     Ardys Serpette
2015     Pat Perkins
2016     Pat Perkins
2017     Ardys Serpette
2018     Ardys Serpette
2019   Pat Perkins

Back to Top

MCGS Home   About MCGS  Join Us!
Resources   Events   Projects


Design and Content Copyright by The McLean County Genealogical Society 2005 to the present.  All rights reserved.
Contact Webmaster: